top of page

Interview with Dean Wolfe

I am happy to launch my new blog with the interesting interview by the Canadian composer, guitarist and producer Dean Graham Wolfe. Together we analyzed the meaning of making guitar music today, my approach between ambient and tradition, the wishes for the future of this instrument. Enjoy!




DEAN: Tell us a little about yourself: where you live, how long you've been playing guitar, etc...

ROCCO: I live in Italy, in Scauri, a small town in southern centre area. I’ve been playing the guitar since I was fourteen, starting with rock music. Then, I become interested in classical music and I took a degree in classical guitar.



D.: When did you first learn about ambient guitar?

R.: I think it was not “love at first sight”, but a slow and natural process (that lasted years), that led me to the ambient guitar. I am curious, and I like to discover new cultural areas of interest in order to find out what’s new to me.



D.: What is it that attracts you to ambient guitar music?

R.: The possibility to create unusual and meditative atmospheres, that are different from the ordinary guitar playing. Since I’ve been listening to many classical and electronical composers, I think I am more open to a wide vision of music and interested in free, independent ways of creation. In fact, even though I’m playing an ambient session, my own personal style always shows a guitar lyricism that derives from my passion for classical guitar.



D.: Do you think ambient music will continue to grow in popularity?

R:. Maybe, but I don’t think in an incisive way, as long as our society is built on values such as urgency, hyper productivity, profit… In my opinion, urgency and experimentation are antithetical.



D.: Have you ever performed ambient music live in concert or at a show?

R.: Yes, I’ve played live, but only in Italy. It was fun seeing the audience reactions when I used a Led Zeppelin audio tape in reverse!



D.: What inspires you when you are creating ambient works? (For example I myself am often inspired by astronomy).

R.: Most of time I start playing and I let the sound lead me in some imaginary place; other times there are some elements that inspire me, such as sci-fi literature, outer space or art and philosophy.



D.: Talk a little about equipment: what is your favorite pedal/ favorite pedal companies etc etc...

R.: I use several pedals, especially the ambient ones, but not so many as it happens for most of ambient guitarists: (my sound doesn’t derives from a lot of effect layers but on my musical language and melodies that I create in real time). Anyway, in every session I always use Tc Electronic DITTO Looper X2, which I consider my “must have”; sometimes I use softwares to research more complex sounds and textures.



D.: How do you record yourself? (software? mixing/mastering?)

R.: I usually use my ZoomH4n if I have to record a live session with a basic rig, and then I use Wavelab to improve the result in postproduction. If I don’t want to use a guitar amplifier but I want a clean and aseptic sound, I link my gear to the audio interface, and through Cubase I can manipulate the dry guitar sound. In this way the final result is in high quality.



D.: Is being an ambient guitarist a lonely affair? Do you ever collaborate? Does collaboration work in ambient guitar music?

R.: I collaborated with some musicians making experimental music, but it’s not the same as creating ambient music by yourself. I think that “loneliness” is crucial: it’s like to be in outer space or in the jungle with someone, it’ll never be the same as being alone.




D.: Do you think an ambient guitarist can ever get 'famous' like U2?

R.: No, I don’t think so… we would need a new Brian Eno in the guitar world!



D.: How important is fame or popularity to you as a musician?

R.: Fame is not important as success, that to me is being able to reach a target audience that undestands what you do and appreciate it, even if it’s an exclusive one.



D.: What is the future for you and ambient guitar music?

R.: I don’t know mine, but I hope it’ll be fair! As for ambient guitar music’s future, I think It’ll be more connected to electronical research than to the traditional instruments, but probably the artists that are going to stand out are those who don’t give up to any of these directions.

D.: Thank you Rocco, all the best!

R.: Thank you Dean, see you soon!


Dean Graham Wolfe is a Canadian composer, multi-instrumentalist and producer. Since 1988 he has published several albums ranging from jazz/fusion, to progressive and electronics. He also wrote music for Canadian media and TV documentaries.


Listen to his music here:



 

Anyone wishing to read other infomation about my music can read another interview by Michael Ross of Guitar Moderne:




Post in evidenza
Post recenti
Archivio
Cerca per tag
Seguici
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page